

Caerleon Running Club ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday 8th February 20204 at 7pm, Caerleon Town Hall, NP18 1AW

In attendance

Peter Rodger, Dave Davies, Charlotte Moran, Paul Adams, Phil Cummings, Steve Dance, Dawn Jones, Avisa Talemi, Peter Rowlands, Tracy Cooper, Chris Ford, Liz Richards, Vanessa Pritchard, Eddie McDaid, Gwyn Howells, Mark Hislop, Matt Turner, Yangi Vundamina, Gareth Purkis, Liz Sims, Michelle Osmond, Claire Orford, Erin Cleary, Lyndon Mac, Lowenna Taylor, Daniel Symmonds, Anna Symmonds, Gareth Burkitt, Michelle Clabon, Jasmine Arnold, Stuart Dominy, Karys Walsh, John Hewet, Jane Derrick, Tony Derrick, Wesley Harris, Pauline Beckett and Lauren Williams.

1. To read the notice convening the meeting (including apologies)

The chairperson convened the meeting. Apologies were received from Ian Davies, Fern Powell, Jason Pritchard, Phil Hyatt, Matt Tooby, Aisling Morgan, Leighton Everett, Isabel Young, Maja Nowak, Sadie Tovey, Donna Dominy, Abbie Thomas, Tammy Fry, Greg Phillips, Kimberley Hill, Alex Smith, Neil Williams, Kevin Howells, Katie Gibbs and Tom Newman.

2. To read and confirm the minutes of the previous annual general meeting.

The minutes of the 19th AGM were confirmed, proposed by Mark Hislop and seconded by Steve Dance.

3. To receive the chairperson's report

The chairperson delivered their report.

4. To receive the treasurer's report and club accounts.

Dave Davies delivered his report. He thanked Mark Hislop for reviewing the accounts and for his constructive input. Due to the changes in the club constitution the report represents a nine-month set of accounts. Awards Evening costs are not reflected in the report since they fall in Q1 of 2024. Some of the surplus revenue is due to awards evening costs and training grants that are yet to be paid for. There is currently £5000 in the account. Once the awards evening commitments are met there will be a net balance of £4400. The club will keep a register of kit going forward. It will be shown as an asset. The club is currently running down old stock. The treasurer gave a verbal breakdown of overall costs that supported the accounts that were distributed to the membership in advance.

The Caerleon 5 Miler race was successful with revenue more than expected. It was always going to be a charity race as it was the 20th anniversary of the club. If this remains the case moving forward will be something to be established and discussed at the next committee meeting. The treasurer requested prompt payment of items

such as kit and relay places moving forward. Annual membership fee reminders will automatically be generated by Member Mojo in early March.

Membership has declined over the last two years. This could be a concern if the trend continues. It was recommended that the new committee be mindful of this. Welsh Athletics may increase affiliation fees for individuals to $\mathfrak{L}25$ (currently $\mathfrak{L}19.50$) over the next few years. The new committee will undertake a review of recruitment and retention and fees.

5. To consider, and if thought fit, pass the following resolutions: The level of subscription for the 2024/2025 membership year will remain the same at £45.

Proposed by Dave Davies Seconded by Mark Hislop Unanimously supported by meeting.

6. To confirm the election of the following officers and committee

OFFICE	NAME	PROPOSER	SECONDER	TERM
Chairperson	Daniel Symmonds	Anna Symmonds	Vanessa Pritchard	3 years
Treasurer	David Davies	Matt Turner	Daniel Symmonds	3 years
Secretary	Paul Adams	Peter Rodger	Phil Cummings	3 years
Coaching Officer	Matt Turner	Matt Tooby	Tom Newman	2 years
Men's Captain	Gareth Burkitt	Matt Turner	Daniel Symmonds	2 years
Ladies' Captain	Avisa Talemi	Lauren Williams	Jane Derrick	2 years
Men's Welfare Officer	Christian Ford	Gwyn Howells	Peter Rowlands	2 years
Ladies' Welfare Officer	Pauline Beckett	Claire Orford	Michelle Osmond	2 years
Kit Officer	Jane Derrick	Liz Sims	Michelle Clabon	2 years
Communications Officer	No Nominations			
Social Secretary	No Nominations			

Committee Member	Vanessa Pritchard	Christian Ford	Gareth Burkitt	2 years
Committee Member	Stuart Dominy	Jane Derrick	Claire Orford	2 years

All nominees were unopposed and were duly elected. Vacant positions can be co-opted by the committee. Co-opted officers will serve for 1 year only but will be eligible for election at the next AGM.

7. Any other business

- It was raised that the current Couch to 5K group could lead to an increase in membership. Stuart Dominy requested that a social group for these runners be set up. Lliswerry Runners have a 2-mile group with approximately 60 members, this has increased their membership. SD asked if these runners could be club members at a reduced rate. Dave Davies raised the need to keep in mind the Welsh Athletics fees that are payable by all. Mark Hislop felt that there should not be a discount since they will have access to free coaching, and it is not expensive. Peter Rodger highlighted the benefits of membership PL insurance, merchant discounts, affiliated race entry discounts etc. A discussion then developed surrounding the 5 to 10K group. Would they be able to do shorter runs on a club night, with cut offs etc? This issue will be discussed in detail with lan Price going forward.
- Liz Richards thanked Peter Rodger and Charlotte Moran for all their hard work over the years they have sat on the committee. In return Peter Rodger thanked Liz Richards. Daniel Symmonds thanked the outgoing committee expressing appreciation for how much work is done.

AGM closed at 7.45pm

AGM Closed at 8.52pm